logobmvc.jpg (47342 bytes)


Homepage ] History ] [Future & recent concerts] Some past concerts] [Repertoire] [ CD ]

[Archives & Memorabilia] [Photos summary] [Joining the Choir] [Contact details & links]




(including Office Holders and Contact Link)


Barrow Male Voice Choir, founded in 1931, is the last remaining traditional male voice choir in the area surrounding Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, an industrial town of over sixty thousand inhabitants in north-west England.



Photograph taken at Coronation Hall, Ulverston, 30 March 2012    


BACK: A Jones, R Lowther, D Parratt, D Hanlon, P Lingard, K Butcher, D Gorman, F Mellor, K Corlett, T Ducie, R Danahay, P Towers and K Harrison

MIDDLE: G Parker, D Hughes, J Robson, R Gerrard, J Hamilton, C Hicks, B Foster, G Macgregor, T Russell, A Purvin, P Adams and K Newby, 

FRONT: Margaret Harrison, I Whittall, M Gregory, M Petty, A Hadley, R Turner, A Willis, A Milledge (holding trophy), L Stewart, R Smith, R Morrison, B Doughty, S Strange and Sue Quarmby.


Our choir performs around sixteen concerts a year for charities, church groups and other fund raisers.  We are frequently hired to sing at weddings and funerals.

Our annual concert raises money for our own funds which enables us to buy new music, uniforms etc.  Many local businesses sponsor us and we also enjoy support from local councillors (of all shades). 


Individuals or organisations wishing to arrange a concert should contact the Choir Secretary in the first instance: they may find it helpful to print out the form here and then forward the details to the address shown. Alternatively you may email the Secretary - please ensure that all the relevant particulars requested on the form are included.




Wagner: A Roman War Song (arr. Percy Fletcher), taken from  'Furness Sound' CD (2001)

Thomas Moore: Love Thee Dearest (soloist Sam Strange)



President: Thomas Round

Musical Director: Anthony Milledge

Deputy Conductor: Les Stewart

Chairman: Keith Newby

Secretary: Dave Parratt

Treasurer: Ray Dunford

Accompanists: Margaret Harrison & Sue Quarmby


 Contact Webmaster (for website queries and general enquiries. 

Messages may be forwarded to committee officers if appropriate)






Robert Danahay

Barry Doughty
Keith Harrison

Jim Kitt
Rob Morrison
Keith Newby
Andy Purvin
Roy Sharpe
Peter Towers




Keith Butcher
Brian Foster
Joe Gardner
Damian Gorman

Dave Hill

Colin Hicks
Peter Lingard
Gerry Moon

Bill Moss

Ron Turner
Bert Willis


Bernard Beckett

Ken Corlett

Terry Ducie

Alan McMurray

Frank Mellor

Phil Scott
Les Stewart





Ray Dunford
Bob Gerrard
Mike Gregory
Alf Hadley
Dan Hughes

Ian Hutt
Ron Lowther
Graham Parker
Dave Parratt
Mike Petty

Ian Whittall


In October 2004, our long standing Musical Director, Mike Petty handed in his baton and resumed his place in the bass section of the choir. As a mark of our appreciation he was appointed a life member. We were fortunate enough to acquire the services of Anthony Milledge, a very experienced Musical Director with a thorough knowledge of choral singing at the highest level.


drupal statistics module
  visits to this page since 25 May 2010 



 Go to top of page